Queen of Spades

Queen of Spades is a trick-taking card game that is related to Hearts. The game is played in Austria and Bavaria and is known as "Grünober Suchen", "Grün-Bauern Jagen", or "Grasobern".

The goal is to avoid winning the trick that contains the queen of spades, and to avoid winning the last trick. As an added twist, the game can also be won by winning all tricks. It is required to follow suit, if possible, but it is not required to play a higher card. The intention to win all tricks does not need to be announced.

The game is for 4 players and is played with a set of 32 cards. There are four suits: Hearts, Diamonds, Spades, and Clubs. Each suit has the following ranks in descending order: Ace, King, Queen, Jack, 10, 9, 8, and 7. You can play the game with the familiar French cards, but in the settings you can also switch to the traditional German cards. Below is a short introduction of the German cards.

Get the game for Android on Google Play

Game Play

Each player receives 8 cards. The first player leads the trick by placing a card face up on the table. The other players each follow with a single card, in clockwise direction. They must follow the suit of the first card, if possible. Otherwise they can play any card. The trick is won by the player who played the highest card of the suit of the first card. The winner takes the cards, places them face down on a pile, and leads to the next trick.

Scoring

Points are distributed in a way that the sum of all points is zero:

Notes

Strategies

German Cards

If you want to play with the traditional German (Doppeldeutsche) cards, here is a quick introduction:
Suit: Acorn (Eichel), equivalent to Clubs
Rank: Ace (Sau); Each Ace shows one of the four seasons.
Suit: Bells (Schelle), equivalent to Diamonds
Rank: King (König); On a horse and with crown.
Suit: Green/Leaves (Grün/Blatt), equivalent to Spades
Rank: Upper (Ober), equivalent to Queen; The symbol is on top.
By the way, this is the card you don't want to get...
Suit: Hearts (Rot/Herz)
Rank: Under (Unter), equivalent to Jack; The symbol is on the bottom.
All other ranks are identified by Roman numerals.

You can order the physical cards here (not affiliated).

Grünober Suchen

Grünober Suchen (oder: Greaober Suachn, Grün-Bauern Jagen) ist eine Variante des bayrischen Grasoberns wie sie im österreichischen Mühlviertel gespielt wird.

Es geht darum, zu vermeiden, den Grünober (Pik Dame) zu stechen oder den letzten Stich zu machen. Man kann allerdings auch gewinnen, indem man alle Stich macht. Es besteht Farbzwang aber nicht Stichzwang. Es ist nicht nötig anzusagen, dass man beabsichtigt, alle Stich zu machen.

Das Spiel ist für vier Spieler und wird mit einem Satz von 32 Doppeldeutschen Karten gespielt. Es gibt die vier Kartenfarben: Rot (Herz), Schelle (Karo), Grün (Pik) und Eichel (Kreuz). Die Wertigkeit der Karten jeder einzelnen Farbe ist absteigend: Ass, König, Ober (Dame), Unter (Bube), 10, 9, 8 und 7. Falls du mit Doppeldeutschen Karten nicht vertraut bist, werden sie weiter unten kurz vorgestellt. Du kannst in den Einstellungen aber auch auf französische Karten wechseln.

Das Spiel ist für Android auf Google Play erhältlich

Spielverlauf

Jeder Spieler erhält 8 Karten. Der erste Spieler legt eine Karte auf den Tisch. Reihum im Uhrzeigersinn legt jeder weitere Spieler eine Karte hinzu, welche, wenn möglich, die gleiche Farbe wie die erste Karte haben muss. Hat ein Spieler keine Karte dieser Farbe, darf er eine beliebe Karte ablegen. Den Stich gewinnt der Spieler, der die höchste Karte von der Farbe der zuerst ausgespielten Karte gespielt hat. Der Gewinner nimmt die abgelegten Karten, legt sie verdeckt vor sich ab und spielt zum nächsten Stich aus.

Punkte

Die Punkte werden so vergeben, dass die Summe Null ergibt:

Hinweise

Spielstrategien

Doppeldeutsche Karten

Hier ist eine kurze Vorstellung der Doppeldeutschen Karten:
Farbe: Eichel (Kreuz)
Wert: Sau (Ass); Jede Sau repräsentiert eine der vier Jahreszeiten.
Farbe: Schelle (Karo)
Wert: König; Auf einem Pferd und mit Krone.
Farbe: Grün (Pik)
Wert: Ober (Dame); Das Symbol ist oben.
Das ist übrigens die Karte, die du nicht stechen sollst...
Farbe: Rot (Herz)
Wert: Unter (Bube); Das Symbol ist unten.
Alle anderen Ränge sind mit römischen Zahlen gekennzeichnet.

Die Karten gibt es zum Beispiel hier zu kaufen.